Kyle Busch Fast in Phoenix; Starting Lineup
Friday, 09 November 2012 22:01

Kyle Busch captured the pole for Sunday’s AdvoCare 500 NASCAR Sprint Cup race after setting a new track record at the one-mile Phoenix International Raceway during qualifying Friday afternoon.

Busch turned in a fast lap at 138.766 mph with Martin Truex, Jr. second quick at 138.217 mph.

“Dave (Rogers, crew chief) made some really good adjustments there from qualifying practice to now and the car drove exactly like it needed to for those two laps,” said Busch. “The Camry was just fast today. I’m just proud of the effort.”

Denny Hamlin qualified third, followed by defending race winner Kasey Kahne and Aric Almirola.

Kurt Busch, Paul Menard, Regan Smith, Tony Stewart and Mark Martin completed the top-10.

Point leader Jimmie Johnson starts 24th on Sunday while Brad Keselowski, currently trailing Johnson by seven markers in the 2012 Chase, rolls off from the 14th position on Sunday.

J.J. Yeley was the only driver not making the 43-car starting field.

Sunday’s 312-lap race goes live on ESPN at 2:00 p.m. ET.

AdvoCare 500 NASCAR Starting Lineup

1.Kyle Busch
2.Martin Truex, Jr.
3.Denny Hamlin
4.Kasey Kahne
5.Aric Almirola
6.Kurt Busch
7.Paul Menard
8.Regan Smith
9.Tony Stewart
10.Mark Martin
11.Jeff Gordon
12.Ryan Newman
13.Carl Edwards
14.Brad Keselowski
15.Joey Logano
16.Clint Bowyer
17.Marcos Ambrose
18.Jamie McMurray
19.Kevin Harvick
20.Greg Biffle
21.Juan Pablo Montoya
22.Matt Kenseth
23.Dale Earnhardt, Jr.
24.Jimmie Johnson
25.Casey Mears
26.Sam Hornish, Jr.
27.Landon Cassill
28.Michael McDowell
29.David Ragan
30.Bobby Labonte
31.David Gilliland
32.David Stremme
33.Jeff Burton
34.David Reutimann
35.Stephen Leicht
36.Mike Bliss
37.Danica Patrick
38.Josh Wise
39.Travis Kvapil
40.Jason Leffler
41.Timmy Hill
42.Dave Blaney
43.Joe Nemechek