NASCAR Truck News
2013 NASCAR Truck Series Preview
Written by Thomas Harris   
Monday, 21 January 2013 19:20

The beginning of the 2013 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series is only a month away with the season opening NextEra Energy Resources 250 set for February 22nd at Daytona International Speedway.

Twenty-two races highlight the 2013 Truck Series schedule with two events going down in history as firsts for the series.

On July 24th  Tony Stewart’s Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio will host the series first ever race on a dirt track, and NASCAR’s first on a dirt surface since 1970. What a race this is going to be!

Then on September 1st the Camping World Truck Series will race for the first time outside of the continental United States when they take to the 10-turn 2.459-mile Canadian Tire Motorsport Park in Bowmanville, Ontario.

A new champion was crowned last season as James Buescher won a close battle for the 2012 title by a mere six points over Timothy Peters. Rounding out last year’s top-five was 2011 Rookie of the Year Joey
Coulter, 2012 Rookie of the Year Ty Dillon, and Parker Kligerman

Of course, only time will tell what the 2013 season will bring. In the meantime, check out this writer’s predictions for the upcoming Truck Series season.

1. Ty Dillon – Four out of the final 10 races finished outside the top-10, more consistency this season will earn him his first Truck Series championship and third for Richard Childress Racing.

2. James Buescher – His efforts to become first repeat champion in series history will fall just short this year but I think it will be a back and forth season between he and Dillon for the title.

3. Joey Coulter – If Coulter and Kyle Busch Motorsports can turn his five third-place finishes into wins he will be a legitimate title contender.

4. Matt Crafton – 2009 Series runner up will be returning from an eighth-place point finish in 2012 that included four DNF’s, his luck changes a little this year as he bumps back into the top-five.

5. Miguel Paludo – Had first top-5 finish of the season at Homestead in 2012 and look to see continued improvement from the Brazilian driver.

6. Johnny Sauter – Seven DNF’s last season, four of which occurred in the first six races, put the ThorSport Racing team too far back to catch up. This team improved over the course of the season and a big turnaround this season and could sneak into the top four by the end of the year.

7. John Wes Townley –Taking over the Red Horse Racing #7 Toyota that finished fifth in 2012. This team had 15 top-10’s last season, so Townley will be getting a great ride this season.

8. Brendan Gaughan – Eight-time winner in the NCWTS returns for a full season at Richard Childress Racing.

9. Ryan Blaney – Brad Keselowski Racing’s only full-time driver this season had seven top-11 finishes in nine races last season.

10. Jeb Burton - 2013 Rookie of the Year winner by default but will sneak into the top-10 in points due to working with the best team in the Camping World Truck Series.