NASCAR Truck News
Newberry Captures Daytona Truck Series Pole
Written by Thomas Harris   
Friday, 22 February 2013 18:27

Tonight’s NextEra Energy Resources 250 at Daytona International Speedway will have Brennan Newberry lead the field to the green flag. Newberry drives the #14 Fight for Life NTS Motorsports Chevrolet and will be competing for the 2013 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Rookie of the Year.

Newberry took the pole position with a lap of 50.797 seconds at 177.176 mph. followed by Justin Lofton, defending Truck Series champion James Buescher, Ron Hornaday and Ty Dillon to round out the top five.

The rest of the top 10 starters in the 250-mile season opener are Kyle Busch, Jeb Burton, Miguel Paludo, Ryan Truex, and Joey Coulter.

Other notables in tonight’s field include Ryan Blaney (11th), Darrell Wallace, Jr.  (14th), Brendan Gaughan (15th), Clay Greenfield will start 19th, last year’s race winner John King rolls off 21st and two-time Truck Champion Todd Bodine will start 35th.

One of the most exciting races of the schedule will begin at 7:30 p.m. tonight on SPEED.