NASCAR Truck News
Sauter Wins 2013 Daytona Truck Race; Results
Written by Thomas Harris   
Saturday, 23 February 2013 12:02

Johnny Sauter overcame the disappointment of getting turned while leading last year’s NASCAR Camping World Truck Series race coming to the white flag with a win in the 2013 NextEra Energy Resources 250 at Daytona International Speedway Friday night.

The sixth caution of the 250-mile race was thrown as Sauter and Kyle Busch headed into turn one on the final lap, denying Busch the chance to make a run and ensuring Sauter his seventh career series victory.

“It’s a lot hard to win a restrictor plate race than you think,” said Sauter.  “I’m speechless.  We did everything right tonight.”

Busch, who has never won a Truck Series race at Daytona, led the race three times and finished second.

“Unfortunately, it was only a 99-lap race today, and we couldn’t get the win,” said Busch.

Four-time series champion Ron Hornaday, Jr. finished third, Justin Lofton fourth and Jeb Burton was the highest finishing rookie in fifth.

Ty Dillon led 56 of the first 64 laps before losing the lead in the pits to Todd Bodine. Dillon did not get another shot at the win and finished sixth.

The big one happened early in the race on lap 55 when Brendan Gaughan, pole sitter Brennan Newberry and German Quiroga Jr. got together and collected 10 others for the second caution of the evening.

Johnny Sauter will hold a six point lead over Ron Hornaday Jr. and Justin Lofton until April 6th when the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series goes to Martinsville Speedway for the Kroger 250.

2013 NextEra Energy Resources 250 Results

1. Johnny Sauter
2. Kyle Busch
3. Ron Hornaday, Jr.
4. Justin Lofton
5. Jeb Burton
6. Ty Dillon
7. Miguel Paludo
8. Ryan Blaney
9. Matt Crafton
10.Ryan Sieg
11.Todd Bodine
12.Darrell Wallace, Jr.
13.James Buescher
14.Ross Chastain
15.Chris Cockrum
16.Tim George, Jr.
17.Norm Benning
18.Dakoda Armstrong
19.Dusty Davis
20.John King
21.John Wes Townley
22.Jeff Agnew
23.Joey Coulter
24.Max Gresham
25.German Quiroga
26.Clay Greenfield
27.Timothy Peters
28.Ryan Truex
29.Brendan Gaughan
30.Jason White
31.David Starr
32.Bryan Silas
33.Brennan Newberry
34.Chris Fontaine
35.Jennifer Jo Cobb
36.Scott Riggs