World of Outlaws News
Meyers Wins Outlaws Opener at Castrol Raceway
Written by Zach Davis   
Saturday, 27 August 2011 07:47


Jason Meyers showed the way at Castrol Raceway Friday night, breaking the track record in time trials before winning the 30-lap World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series A-Main on the first of two night's of racing at the 3/8-mile in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada.


“Charlie Garrett horsepower is the key to all of those Quick Times and track records,” said Meyers. “Everyone on this crew really works hard and I have to tell you, we love Canada. It’s a long haul up here but the people are great and so is the racing. Another win is great. It puts more points up on the board. Tonight you really had to hunt around to find the right line because the track kept changing. The crew here did an awesome job of giving us a great racing surface tonight.”


Meyers used a slider to get by Paul McMahan for the lead on lap 18 and held off Donny Schatz for his fourth win of the season.


“The track certainly went through a lot of changes,” said Schatz, who finished second. “There for a while, everyone was running the bottom which kicked some stuff up to the middle and I was able to take advantage of that for about four or five laps.”


Lucas Wolf scored his second consecutive third-place finish after battling with Jason Sides for the spot.


“We got to racing really hard there,” said Wolfe. “Fortunately for us no one wrecked and we made it out with another great result. We keep running really well and that’s encouraging as we head west.”


McMahan finished fourth with Sides fifth.


The finale of the 'Great Northern Tour' is scheduled to run tonight at Castrol Raceway.


World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series Results Friday, August 26, 2011
A-Main -  (30 Laps)
1. 14-Jason Meyers[3][$8,000]; 2. 15-Donny Schatz[4][$4,000]; 3. 5W-Lucas Wolfe[2][$2,500]; 4. 83-Paul McMahan[1][$2,200]; 5. 7S-Jason Sides[5][$2,100]; 6. 7-Craig Dollansky[12][$2,000]; 7. 9-Brad Sweet[6][$1,800]; 8. 91-Cody Darrah[8][$1,600]; 9. 6R-Bill Rose[13][$1,500]; 10. 63-Chad Kemenah[10][$1,300]; 11. 39C-Jason Solwold[15][$1,200]; 12. 6-Kraig Kinser[7][$1,100]; 13. 31-Colton Akerstrom[23][$1,000]; 14. 11EH-Marc Duperron[9][$700]; 15. 11-Steve Kinser[11][$600]; 16. 38-Trevor Turnbull[18][$600]; 17. 44-Kelly Miller[22][$600];18. 12-Casey Adams[14][$600]; 19. 3-Dennis MacEachern[20][$600]; 20. 1M-Drew MacDonell[16][$600]; 21. 33-Justin Bienert[24][$600]; 22. 55-Gord Kynoch[21][$600]; 23. 59-Eric Fisher Jr[19][$600]; 24. 16-David Miller[17][$600]


Lap Leaders: Paul McMahan 1-17, Jason Meyers 18-30

KSE Hard Charger Award: 31-Colton Akerstrom[+10]


 hardcore-race-fansMORE WORLD OF OUTLAWS NEWS