World of Outlaws News
Blaney Wins World Finals; Schatz 2012 Champion
Written by Zach Davis   
Sunday, 04 November 2012 12:28

Dale Blaney claimed his second World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series A-Main victory of the season in the sixth annual PEAK Motor Oil World of Outlaws World Finals Presented by NAPA Auto Parts at The Dirt Track at Charlotte Saturday night.

"The last race of the year, to win down here in front of this crowd and everything, it's pretty cool," Blaney said. "We had a little bit of luck … but our car was really good. I've got a little bit of talent, but a lot of luck is a lot better."

Stevie Smith and Lucas Wolfe started the 30-lap season finale from the front row with Blaney and Craig Dollansky in row two.

Smith took command at the drop of the green flag with Blaney on his heels for the first six circuits. Using a slider in turn two for the lead Blaney held down the point on lap seven with Dollansky working his way into second several laps later.

Dollansky moved past Blaney on lap 19 and held onto the lead until his right rear tire exploded, handing the point back to Blaney.  Paul McMahan moved to the runner up spot from his 22nd starting position and began to challenge Blaney for the lead.

Two late cautions bunched the field, the first for Steve Kinser’s spin in turn two as a result of a flat tire with three laps remaining. The final caution was displayed on lap 29 for Craig Dollansky’s stalled car in turn three, setting up a green-white-checkered finish.

Blaney’s momentum on the outside carried him to a one car length advantage at the stripe.

"We had a good run on him, got to the inside of him one time getting off of (turn) four and I just wasn't able to pull it off," McMahan said. "We gave it our best effort and we passed 20 race cars, so you can't really complain about that."

Jason Johnson earned his first podium of the year with Kraig Kinser fourth and Greg Hodnett fifth.

Donny Schatz collected his fifth World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series title after crashing with pole sitter Stevie Smith as the two fought for third place on the 4/10-mile track. The turn three incident relegated Schatz to a 25th place finish and also ended the night for Jac Haudenschild and Cody Darrah, who both turned over trying to avoid the collision.

"This ranks up there as probably one of the hardest fought ones," Schatz said of his 2012 championship run. "We had some of the lowest lows and the highest highs. To rebound and dig out of the hole we were in - we raced our way out of it - and that's what makes it more special than the rest of them."

PEAK Motor Oil World of Outlaws World Finals Presented by NAPA Auto Parts Results
Saturday, November 3, 2012

A-Main - (30 Laps)
1. 2-Dale Blaney [3] [$10,000]
2. 51-Paul McMahan [22] [$5,500]
3. 41-Jason Johnson [8] [$3,200]
4. 11K-Kraig Kinser [5] [$2,800]
5. 39-Greg Hodnett [16] [$2,500]
6. 21-Brian Brown [13] [$2,300]
7. 7S-Jason Sides [23] [$2,200]
8. 5W-Lucas Wolfe [2] [$2,100]
9. 30C-Lance Dewease [10] [$2,050]
10. 89G-David Gravel [11] [$2,000]
11. 49-Daryn Pittman [6] [$1,500]
12. 19W-Brooke Tatnell [20] [$1,200]
13. 11-Steve Kinser [25] [$1,100]
14. 97-Dean Jacobs [24] [$1,050]
15. 9-Joey Saldana [14] [$1,000]
16. 59-Jac Haudenschild [17] [$900]
17. 2L-Ed Lynch Jr [19] [$800]
18. 63-Chad Kemenah [26] [$800]
19. 7-Craig Dollansky [4] [$800]
20. 24H-Bryan Sebbetto [15] [$800]
21. 6-Bill Rose [27] [$800]
22. 13-Tim Shaffer [21] [$800]
23. 19-Stevie Smith [1] [$800]
24. 29-Kerry Madsen [18] [$800]
25. 15-Donny Schatz [7] [$800]
26. 4-Cody Darrah [9] [$800]
27. 1-Sammy Swindell [12] [$800].

KSE Hard Charger Award: 51-Paul McMahan [+20].